Many people in today’s society enjoy watching movies or TV programs about crime. What makes them so appealing to people? What is the impact of this on individuals and society?

In recent years, the tremendous enthusiasm over crime shows has led to radical changes in people’s preferences when it comes to choosing their TV programs. Having understood criminals’ purposes, they will be aware of the dangers being faced in society and consequently it has a positive impact on societal development in the long run. To begin with, the majority of people tend to unravel the mysteries owing to their curiosity, thereby alluring them to watch these programs and figuring out criminals’ incentives. In addition, not only are Criminal movies blockbusters nowadays as compared to big-star cast movies, but also they use more advance technologies to show their graphic scenes which people find them entertaining. Myriad of these series and films are based on real incidents, therefore, TV viewers are being inevitably drawn to them to remain updated by the latest ways of violations and corruptions. Nevertheless, one of the beneficial effects of this phenomenon is that people are now more cautious and have a profound perception of the modus operandi of criminals. This also considerably assists people in safeguarding their homes and protecting their children from being a victim of any offence. Moreover, parents who are willing to follow crime movies, are more likely to foresee any errant behavioral pattern in adolescents around them and, hence, inculcate necessary moral and ethical values and attitudes in them. In conclusion, the feeling of excitement, thrill, and curiosity have inclined people towards watching crime shows which have had a far-reaching impact on people's behavior and society. These programs through which have generated awareness at a large scale, have been strengthening citizens’ security.