Many people in today’s society enjoy watching movies or TV programs about crime. What makes them so appealing to people? What is the impact of this on individuals and society?

It is clear that while there are various priorities and options to choose from for different genres of movies, large numbers of people would be delighted by watching aggressive films or programs revolving around criminal topics because these are engaging to follow through psychological reasons predominantly despite the positive and detrimental influences. Basically, there are two major reasons for this. Firstly, directly or indirectly during the life, each individual may be tortured by culprits and after that strives to prosecute, hence, watching these events in TV or cinema is exhilarating to them because they simulate those moments and would alleviate negative feeling by sharing with others and expressing excitement. A related but separate point is that in today's hectic life people prefer to watch more superficial programs when they spend their leisure time, thereby, generally, not only these exciting amusements entertain people with no extra mental energy to comprehend, but also entailing ample subjects playing a tremendous role in people's life, hence being tangible to be a bland package. On the one hand, there are both some worrying aspects and benefits flowing from this trend. At first, it goes without saying that relentless gruesome entertainment in scenes can have deliberate or unintended malicious effects on the brain and mind by increasing the possibility of anxiety and undue stress, therefore, health-wise and also time-wise are not sensible. Likewise, these TV shows try to confound people by biased inception of the world we live in, also implicitly or explicitly propagate violence. In turn, pessimism, rebellion, and withdrawal of privileges would have resulted unconsciously. On the other hand, despite all attempts to ameliorate weaknesses in societies to reduce the crime statistics, less or more offense is inextricably bound up in every circumstance, thus, these programs play an educational role to make people aware and warn them to prevent undue incidents. In addition, this is one item of genre's movies and families can watch them in a peaceful environment if all members adhere to this kind of program. To conclude, there are intricate dilemmas, being the kernel of truth assessment. By my reckoning, although people follow criminal programs usually in their leisure time for fun or because of technical reasons, according to diverse hypotheses, it is more cogent that these programs exacerbate the security and mental health more than mitigate gaps.