Many people have started to complain about lack of sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Sleeping is very essential for our body to function in a proper manner. More and more people have begun to raise concerns regarding lack of sleep. Weak immune system, reduced concentration and depression are a few effects of sleep deprivation. A number of measures, such as participating in physical activities or meditation, reducing screen time and following a fixed schedule, can be taken to avoid these problems. In today’s world, where everyone is always in competition with themselves, people have neglected their health. One of the most concerning consequences of this is lack of sleep. A sleep deprived body is less productive and more prone to diseases. This in turn leads to health issues such as high blood pressure, heart attacks and chronic headaches. Less sleep hours results in reduced stamina and inability to perform any task efficiently. Many researches have also pointed out that suffering from lack of sleep for an extended period of time can lead to depression. While there are a lot of adverse effects of sleep deprivation, there are many ways to prevent getting affected by it. Increased screen time is one of the major contributor towards lack of sleep. As per a recent research, reducing mobile and computer usage during night time can improve sleep. Engaging oneself in physical activities such as gym, sports or even meditation or yoga, which works up our body muscles, results in better sleep. In a recent survey, about 75% of the people agreed that following a set time-table for day-to-day activities led to fixed bed time which consequently helped with their sleep. In conclusion, although everyone nowadays is trying to cope up with the fast paced world, sleep should never be ignored. Compromising sleep can lead to many health issues and thus measures should be taken to prevent it at all costs.