Many people feel school children should not be given homework whilst others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are a lot of people who think that young children should not receive homework from school, whilst many others disagree with this idea. In this essay, I will explore both sides and also give my own opinion on this subject. Firstly, I will consider why many people may feel that students should not get homework and secondly I will discuss the positives of young people completing assignments at home. One excellent reason that adolescents should be homework free, is to develop their social skills and meet new friends. Furthermore, it is very difficult for people to learn to communicate and develop positive relationships when working alone in their parents' home. For example, many people feel that social skills, such as gaining people's trust, is actually more important than academics. Another very valid reason to allow children to be homework free is to stop them beckming stressed and worried. At times, deadlines can be short and this makes people (including children) becom very worried. On the other hand, it has been well argued that homework develops responsibility in young people. By having a number of assignments to complete with fixed dates, children are able to become more individual. Another consideration for including homework in an adolescent's education is to develop this person's overall understanding and learning. It is clear to see that quality homework assignments can very much raise the attainment of children of all ages. In conclusion, there are many good reasons that people feel homework should and should not be given to young students. In my opinion, I believe that up to around the age of 11, children should not receive any homework from school, and therefore develop socially.