Some people think advertising may have positive economic effects. Others think it has social effects because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have.

We are confronted with decades of commercial advertising growing and expanding in influence due to changing technology. And there seems to be a heated debate revolving around the issue of the economic or social impact of advertising. In my personal view, both these claims have some grounds which need elaborating. Commercial advertisements are used for the purpose of increasing sales, reaching the needs of customers in order to maximize the profits of the business. Nowadays, it is very common for businesses to invest in advertising for their products, even as a way to stand out in the marketplace. Currently, with the development of technology and social networks, there are many forms of advertising such as global representation, TVC, banners, posters, . . . so that brands can compete and create competitive advantages against the opponent. And the economic impact of commercial advertising cannot be denied when according to a survey, in Vietnam, a staggering 80% of consumers decide to buy products online by watching ads. In addition to the positive effects on the economy, we must also recognize the potential dangers of commercial advertising in terms of psychosocial impact. It is clear evidence that today's advertising programs are so perfect and elaborate, this inadvertently exaggerates the actual functions of the product and causes consumers to unwittingly manipulate their minds. An example that can not be more typical, is skincare products or weight loss, when the ads offer too many extremely promising effects for user, making them like puppets manipulated when falling into doubting her own appearance but following the beauty standards in those advertisements. In conclusion, I believe that it is necessary for economic impacts and social impact of advertisement to maintain harmony and accordingly they will be the need of the day. After all, businesses should know the balance between profit and customer satisfaction, besides, on the user side, try to become wise consumers to avoid unnecessary risks.