Crime is a growing problem on a global scale. Some think that crime prevention rather than punishment is the key to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position

Crime is unquestionably one of the most prevailing and major concern in any society, and its prevention should be taken seriously. Some accord that crime prevention it. In this essay, I will explain both the views in detail. Crime prevention is an attempt to reduce and deter crime and criminals. Well-planned precautionary measures/strategies not only reduce illegal activities, but also promote community safety and contribute to sustainable development of countries. For example, installing security devices such as CCTV cameras or theft alarms on public places help the police to monitor unusual activities and plan a prompt response to this. In addition, increasing the number of police personnel would also serve the purpose. In addition to this, deploying more forces as it ensures regular patrolling of the area and do not let the offences happen. Implementation of these strategies seems to be a great idea to curtail misconduct. However, in certain situations when the crime happens punishment is essential. Strict laws such as imprisonment, physical harms or financial penalties can have deterrent effect on offenders and immediate punishment discourages the offender to commit such activities. Saudi Arabia has lesser crime rate as compared to other countries because of severe disciplinary action against misdeeds. It gives them a platform to reform themselves. For example, if a murderer is allowed to remains outside the bars, he will commit the same deed again. To conclude, both crime prevention and punishment are essential to eradicate it from the society.