Many people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Everybody knows that any damage to the environment can be harmful to us and also the next generations. Although any issue about the environment can affect our daily life, unfortunately, these days most people do not care enough about environmental problems. The environment is not important for the majority of people for several reasons Education is an important factor to make people sensitive about the environment. Regrettably, this matter is not considered enough in the school textbooks. So, children can not be aware of their natural surrounding as it deserves. Another important reason is that most people do not think about the prosperity who will live on the planet in the upcoming decades and centuries. For example, consider people who are cutting down trees as much as they can for timber and to produce some materials like paper. They do not care about the damages of this to the environment, which would become considerable in the future. Furthermore, some of the environmental effects will not take place just after doing some harmful actions by humans. Therefore, people do not recognise the impact of their actions immediately. For example, there are enough water resources for current and maybe the next decade, so some people may think that they can use it as much as they want and therefore do not try to save water. They do not believe a small mistake by each person could destroy the environment in the long and even short run. The recent bushfire in Australia started from some small fire and led to the extinction of about 30 native species there. To conclude, people do not care enough about environmental problems for various reasons, including poor education, ignoring the next generations and their needs. Nor do they pay attention to the long-term effects of human activities, being careless about the knock-on effects.