Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information be may relevant and useful. Others disagree. Describe these both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons and relevant examples to support the answer.

It is common practice that companies ask personal details of the application during their hiring process. Whether this information is really important for the employer to make the hiring decision or it is a just over detail of the application process, it is matter of discussion. I believe to some extent, but over detail is not suitable. Some prejudice people think that, while asking too many personal details for the applicant, employer is invading his/her personal life. The point of view is supported by the basic human right argument that asking for personal information is against that right. Moving on, they think that these personal details are safe with the employer, confidentially can be breached, and information can be misused if it landed in the wrong hands. For Instance, these details can be used to create fraudulent documents, or if there are copies of personal documents like Identity cards they can used to buy guns. There is risk that due to this irresponsibility of employers, many innocent people could be trapped in the crimes they never did. The other aspect of this view point is that, whey the personal information is important, employer should ask for professional details of applicant or employees. Their personal information has nothing to do with their experience, education and skills that they carry for a particular job. On contrary, the other view point is that these details are important for employer to know before they mare hiring decision. They think that knowing these all details help human resource department to understand the employee’s behavior, liking and disliking, and his social circumstances. To support their view point they say that knowing employee hobbies and interest will not harm employee right anyway but it will help the employer to work for welfare of his employee. For instance, if the employee is like go gym everyday the employer can include the gym subscription fee in this package to keep him/her motivated. If the employee has family and he /she like to travel with family employer can help him/her to support this trip financially rather them giving them salary bonus. To conclude, I believe that there is no problem if our employer asking us some personal details as long as they are strict on the confidentiality of personal details. I believe if our employer will have more detail about or personal life, they will be able to provide us better working environment.