Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

In the modern world, a great number of people prefer to utilize cars and motorcycles despite being aware of its harmful effects on the environment. This tendency is due to its convenience and safety, and the use of these vehicles can be reduced through implementation of several actions. To begin with, the first predominant reason of continuous utilization of these vehicles is that they are convenient in terms of saving time. To clarify, people instead of waiting for arrival of the bus or any other types of public transportation, they choose to have a private car or motorbike and drive them wherever they want without wasting their time by waiting. Second reason why people tend to own private modes of transportations is that since today there is an increasing rate of crime in public transportations such as stolen mobile phones or expensive goods in metro or bus, people feel more safely in their own cars rather than in public transportation. However, there are potential solutions that decrease the usage of private conveyance. Firstly, government should improve the public transportation system. Accordingly, if the number of buses or transportation modes are increased and infrastructure of roads is improved, then the frequency of arrival of vehicles on time will reduce the waiting time and thereby, resulting in shifting from private cars to public transport. Secondly, the safety of passengers should also be promoted by installing cams on the buses or metros. To conclude, the main factors that leads use of personal transportation to increase among population are due to time constraint and safety. So, if effective measures are taken by government, this tendency can be resolved.