Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products unnecessarily. Why do people like to do this? Are there any solutions for this problem? Write a 250-word essay using your opinions and relevant experiences.

In today’s modern era, products are becoming more and more eye-catching and attract more consumers through advertisements in the media. Therefore, a plethora of people frequently do not buy commodities based on their demand but purchase for exchanging others aimlessly. This may lead to some severe problems, such as environmental pollution and wasting of money. To deal with such issues, there are some feasible solutions that would be proposed and discussed in this literature. From my perspective, using and replacing continuously a lot of commodity, there will be a lot of harmful waste to the environment, especially electronic waste such as batteries or plastic waste that is difficult to decompose. In this type of waste, such as phones, refrigerators looks completely harmless but, there are many toxic substances harmful to human health such as cadmium in resistors, lead, mercury which easily penetrate water that affect the health of people there when using water for cooking and showering. On the other hand, when buying too many unnecessary products, people will spend a lot of money. These things that are often replaced by people are usually not too expensive, so they often have the mentality to buy a lot and replace a lot in a short time, so they will not be aware of themselves spent a lot of money on that. If people keep replacing items that are still valuable in their homes, it will cost them a lot of money. That money should be used for more useful things for society and their families. For example, they can use it for charity or invest in things of greater value and more necessary for their lives. To solve these problems, there are some workable measures that should be taken into considerations, including government aid and our awareness. As regard to legal framework, the government should increase the environmental protection tax on products that have the potential cause harm to the environment. As a result, product prices will increase and be less inclined to replace these items unnecessarily. For instance, in Vietnam, many environmentally hazardous products have also applied environmental protection taxes, causing a decrease in consumption these products. Furthermore, each of us needs to rationalize spending. We often waste money on products that are eye-catching, so we need to take measures such as making a monthly spending list, limiting spending within the framework, avoiding to waste of money on unnecessary products. In conclusion, using and replacing continously become a threat to environment and human health. Nevertheless, these issues can be solved by the cooperation between governments and their citizens to ease the adverse effects of these problems.