Is it good to spend a long time on computers from a very young age? Discuss its advantages and disadvantages

Whether children should be excessively exposed to computers from early years still remains a heated debate. This essay will examine the positive and negative impacts arising from the phenomenon before providing a logical conclusion. On the one hand, exploiting the use of computers since childhood can boost youngsters’ technological skills. This is because children are more likely to master such abilities as starting the operation, coding, or approaching office applications, which can assist them in boosting their academic performances and integrating into the digital era. Another benefit of spending an excessive amount of time on computers from the start years of life is that children can diversify their entertaining sources. For instance, when browsing the Internet, the young can play multiple child-friendly games, including Pikachu, Mining Gold, or Angry Birds; these kinds of entertainment can not only grab youngsters’ interest compared to obsolete ones but also help them acquire educational lessons and foster strategic capabilities. In other words, technological acquisition and recreational diversity are two leading merits of utilizing computers from early ages. On the other hand, letting young children be glued to computer screens can trigger numerous health conditions. Indeed, they can be more prone to both physical and mental ailments, which is evidenced by a staggering figure of 10% for primary school pupils suffering from shortsightedness as a result of playing computer games, according to Optimax Eye Surgery in October 2019. In addition, an extreme approach to computers can hinder youngsters’ social development. Because of constantly keeping eyes on these electrical gadgets, they cannot have a chance to sharpen their communication and collaborative skills, leading to their difficulty in adapting to empirical environments. The demerits of early exposure to computers for a long duration in inflicting health-related diseases and obstructing practical aptitudes can therefore be seen. In conclusion, despite exerting a few detriments, I believe that the disadvantages are far outweighed by the advantages. It is advised that the number of educational websites for children should be increased so children can strengthen their capacities.