Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

The idea of closing zoos is not one that came randomly to people. It revolves around the discussion that has animal rights at its center. I personally share the view that zoos have lost their old attraction and should be closed for two main reasons. Firstly, it is true that such structures pose a limitation on adequate conditions of life for animals. Generally speaking, conformable zoos will try to recreate the natural habitat of each species. However, an artificial recreation of an entire ecosystem may be virtually possible but impractical. Animals such as tigers and lions, which are enclosed in portions of lands that try to imitate savannas, would still lack the possibility of adapting to real forms of natural stimulus. Creatures of this kind are natural hunters but their innate capability of providing for themselves is hindered in structures such as zoos, where food is provided by external individuals and zookeepers. On the other hand, the decision of keeping zoos in modern cities may not account for sanitary, phytosanitary and general health conditions. According to recent studies, more than 70% of existing viruses are transmitted by wild animals as they are the perfect symbiosis subjects. If we add the increasing population densities in modern cities to the equation we could obtain a rapidly expanding pandemic in the not-so-distant future. I t should be noticed that the majority of zoos around the world are not kept under decent sanitary conditions, which may increase the likelihood of close contact and transmission of viral beings. Alternatives to zoos are already in place. Safaris are one example of activity that allows people to experience and admire animals in their natural habitat, limiting close contact. Such forms of entertainment, however, are starting to sprawl not only in Africa, Australia, exotic and maybe not so affordable sites. Italy, for instance is one of the first countries that opened the so called “Le Cornelle”. This is a park that provides people sitting in their cars with the possibility of admiring the different species that live in the Alpes, outside of captivity. In conclusion, the idea of keeping animals in concrete prisons, no matter how close those prisons resemble natural habitats, is an outdated one that does not conform with nowadays societal conditions. Open parks with safe conditions of distance are, on the other hand, the future and adequate alternative to zoos