Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

It is common opinion that zoos have become useless nowadays and they should no longer exist. Keeping zoos open also creates also a number of issues. Furthermore, in this essay I also will discuss some plausible alternative to zoos. In recent times, many people argue that zoos are an obsolete structure and therefore there is no longer a valid reason to keep them operating. In my opinion, running a zoo is undoubtedely problematic, in particular from the ethical perspective. In the last century, natural science has developed immensely and we know now for a fact that animals are sentient creatures and they can suffer and feel pain similarly to human beings. How can we possibly keep animals in a cage for our own entertainement? Secondly, while many zoos justify their own existence by saying that they offer a great study opportunity, it is nowadays very well documented that animals behave differently when they live in their own natural environment compared to when they trapped in an artificial environment. So studying animals in zoo seems unnecessary and not overly useful. In the eventuality that zoos would run of business, two main alternatives could be proposed and should be implemented further. The first option would be to observe the animals in their natural habitat. For example, visitors could visit a national natural park where animals live freely. In addition, a second alternative could be learning about the animals with a documentary, on TV or in a cinema. The technology behind a documentary these days, both, in terms of filming and broadcasting, has advanced so greatly that even the smallest details are caught on camera and thus documentaries offer an excellent learning experience for anyone passionate in zoology. In conclusion, in today’s society zoos create a number of problems, particularly ethically. In my view, we should look at already existing alternatives that allow to admire and study animals in a more respectful manner without the necessity to keep them in captivity.