Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed? Write 250 words.

Zoos are places where people in urban locations are able to visit and see wild animals. Going to the Zoo is a fun and educative experience, especially for children, as they are able to learn more about the animals. It is believed by many, however, that Zoos have no place in today’s world. This essay shall discuss the problems that come with Zoos, as well as alternatives, were they to be closed. One of the main problems that come with Zoos is the treatment faced by the animals. As the animals are not tamed, they are kept in cages for the safety and entertainment of the visitors. This is exploitation. Despite the good in terms of income for the city, and jobs that come with running an institution such as a zoo, the animals are not treated humanely. Another challenge brought about by Zoos is that the animals are kept in seclusion. This causes severe psychological problems. Scientific evidence is there to support the fact that wild animals, held previously in captivity, do not survive for long once released into the wild. This is as they do not develop the skills to survive in their natural habitat. Were Zoos to be closed, many benefits would arise for the animals. However, there would be disadvantages with this too. This is as Zoos also help protect against endangered species been wiped out through excessive hunting or poaching. In such a scenario, people would have to learn about the wild animals in their environment by going on safaris in national parks for land animals. The downside to this approach would be the high costs incurred so as to learn about wildlife. Ultimately, I believe that there is no place in today’s world for Zoos outside of scientific research and the preservation of endangered wild animals. A balance, however, should be struck in determining how to go about the closure of the Zoos.