Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Nowadays, people are arguing about to close zoos around the world. Seems to be not necessary that these places are opened, and we are not sure why we should keep animals locked inside at park just for our fun. There are several international animalist organizations to protect animals. Even, they consider that human should respect the animal’s rights. The animalists say that we are not the most important specie on the Earth. If we based in the number of visitors to zoos, it is possible to understand that today people don´t like to visit these places. Firstly, because animals seem to be punished and sad. This is not the only one reason. For example, it is not normal to find a polar bear in a Brazil. The zoo takes care of emuling and constructing the original bear’s habitat. They usually use a huge pool with icy water, but in no case is same to live in a polar environment, with real temperature. However, in many cases, the zoos are directed by animalist organization, and they believe that theses places are a good choice to protect them. There are cases where the zoos have rescued the last animal of a specific specie. This occured with white rhinoceros, it was saved to extinct. In terms of alternative, the zoos could become places just for protecting animals and not for people’s fun. These institutions should ensure a correct life style for the animals. Thus, zoos could have specific roles for each species. For example, could exist a place just for birds, another one for reptiles, or even, just for feline mammals. In summarize, I believe that zoos - the space that we know - will disappear. Because people are not interested to visit them. However, it´s moment to change this paradigm and change it. We must reformulate this place just for protecting animals.