Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Transportation has always been the prioritized concern of every government for ages whether it is roadways, seaways, airways, or railways. Owing to the benefits one gets by using trains, it is thought by some people that the government needs to increase its expenditure on the development of railways instead of that of roads. I completely agree with this statement because trains are faster and more environmentally friendly. One evident advantage of investing in the modern train system is that people will travel faster within the country. As they do not have to deal with the congestion that most road users have to experience and trains will acquire more speed than cars. Therefore, it will lead to saving of their prominent time. For example, the British government spent almost a million pounds last year to connect the north and south Britain via modern railways network and it has proved to be most effective as people travel faster now. So this is the primary reason why there should be an advanced rail system. On top of that trains excrete less pollution as opposed to the vehicles used on the roadways. Because the locomotives used in the engine of the trains are less harmful, unlike petrol or diesel which generates gases that nearly act as poison for the environment. For instance, a report in "The Tribune" justifies that in the south of India seventy percent of pollution is mainly due to the gases released by the cars. Hence, a better railway system will lead to a decrease in air pollution. In conclusion, the states need to spend more on railway transportation and spend less on road transportation as this will save a lot of journey time and also be less harmful to the environment.