Write about the following topic: A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at art institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Life is filled with experiences and knowledge. Tertiary courses that require students to take part in unpaid works has both advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, this type of courses have their own pros and cons to offer. This type of course requirement provides work experience to students. Working and studying at the same time adds up to our knowledge. It makes us ready to face the outer world. Students gain confidence in themselves before they actually start working after completion of their studies. Building connections and personal relations before starting work after graduation can make the journey much easier. However, it has its disadvantages too. Working while studying can get tiring for the students. Balancing work and studies can be a little troublesome. Also giving all our hard work to the job can distract us from our studies. These types of course requirements might be stressful as well as discouraging for students having trouble in school works. Requiring students to take part in unpaid works has its advantages and disadvantages. Thus, it has to be balanced out considering the efforts of the students that has to be divided in studies and work.