Many people believe that the main aim for university education is to help graduate to find a better jobs, while some people believe that university education should aim at cultivating students’ overall abilities. What is your opinion?

Currently, people hold different views about whether the function of university is to impart academic knowledge or teach life skills. A number of people believe that helping students to find a great work is the main duty for campus. However, others argue that learning functional and practical skills is more essential. In my opinion, I support that both parties are vital to graduates for the following reasons. On the one hand, advocates of the major of campus is to schooling graduate academic knowledge such as mathematics, physics and chemistry, in order to get high salaries in their future job. The main benefit of learning required subjects is that it is likely to stimulate students’ creative developments like logical thinking, spatial thinking as well as hand-on ability and problem-solving skills. When they are in the society, those academic skills are the most important skills for the companies or organizations to select talent workers. Therefore, graduates have more opportunities if they have chance to study at college instead of others who do not. On the other hand, there are several advantages of training practical matters for students in universities. Firstly, there are a large number of skills and abilities are indispensable for students’ future life, such as home management, financial management and health care. For example, if children want live away from their parents, they are required to learn life skill to take care of themselves. Secondly, communication ability is also essential for their social life. In the society, they have more chance to meet new people, if they don’t know how to talk polite with others, especially for their boss, they might meet challenges. As a result, training practical skills in advance are conductive to one’s self-betterment and self-realization. In conclusion, from my own perspective, I strongly believe that the major of university is to stimulating students’ abilities and help them to receive enough salaries in their individual life.