In conclusion, it can be seen that majority of sales are driven by the use of celebrity campaigns. Whilst there is a tiny population of people who purchase goods according to their needs and aren’t influenced by extravagant adverts.

In the present day, the increasing sales of widespread consumer goods is a result of heavy advertising, where businesses frequently fail to read into the needs of the society. Firms have mastered the ability to produce eye-catching advertisements that lead to the businesses high revenues. The following paragraphs further explain the two sides of the argument. Companies frequently make use of celebrities to run successful marketing campaigns. The reason this strategy works is due to the fact the product being advertised is portrayed as being a luxury item or in other cases people purchase the good merely due to the fact that a celebrity is seen using it or promoting it. For instance, when world renowned footballer, Cristiano Ronaldo partnered with Nike, they saw a massive increase in sales from him promoting the shoes. This shows that if they were to recommend any product its usefulness would be overlooked. At the same time advertising can lead to overconsumption as consumer buy goods without thinking of its usefulness. This can worsen the economic problem of scarce resources. On the other hand, essential goods do no need to be excessively advertised. The increase in purchases of these goods could be result of the increasing population. Either way, despite minimal publicity products such as flour increases in sales. In conclusion, it can be seen that majority of sales are driven by the use of celebrity campaigns. Whilst there is a tiny population of people who purchase goods according to their needs and aren’t influenced by extravagant adverts.