Many people believe that talent is inborne, especially in sports or music. Other people however believe that talent can be inculcated and developed. What is your opinion and why?

Many a times we have been acquainted by cases of prodigy. So often, we come across a news about a young child being gifted in their abilities in domains of arts, sports and science. This is where the talent factor comes in. You are just born with it, or you are made for it. These cases are however, rare. Recently I came across a video of a young five-year old science prodigy called Professor Soborno Isaac Bari. His Sri Lankan family is based in America. In the video, an established scientist and physicist from Massachusetts Institute of Technology was interviewing the kid on complex topics of modern physics. I was amazed by the concepts the young child was able to understand, recall and explain from the Bohr’s atomic model to Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle. His father was a professor in a renowned institution and probably because of the immense scientific exposure in his baby days, helped him to possess this talent. This is a perfect example of how a talent acquired can be inborne, you are influenced by the environment you are born in and the genes you have. The rare cases of prodigality are overshadowed by many instances of people who are hard-working and resilient in the pursuit of their ambitions. You can always change who you are as a person. You can work hard and build a better life for you. Mohammad Ali, the famous boxer and champion was known for his hard-work and perseverance. He was not born with some innate quality that helped him be the world champion in the boxing ring. He worked hard for it. Hours of training and sweat, sacrifices, determination and grit. You can always work towards your goals and no one is stopping you from achieving your whole potential. Hence, talent is something that can also be inculcated. The practice for years transforms you into a prodigal. However, the use of prodigal would not be an apt word because prodigy is concerned with something you innately have or been bestowed with without much effort. But to the common people who are unaware of the work that has been put into the attainment of the goal, it does seem as prodigal. I agree with the stand that talent can be inculcated and developed. You can work on a goal you want to achieve and you can give your whole into it. You do not have to depend on your genetic structure and characteristics to be able to achieve greatness. I would further support my conclusion using the Charles Darwin’s theory of the ‘Survival of the fittest’. You can adapt and improvise, working on your talent to achieve greatness.