Many people believe that students in remote areas should be given bonus points in the national graduation exam. Others believe that no one should be given that advantage.

It is undeniable that the education systems in urban areas are better than those in remote areas. Although a number of people believe that students from far-flung regions should be given bonus point in the entrance examination to universities and colleges, I would argue that no one should be given that advantage for a variety of reasons. On the one hand, advocates of the idea of giving students bonus points in the national graduation exam base their opinion on the fact that students in remote areas have more limited access to learning facilities and references. For instance, while the use of the Internet is widespread in urban cities, in some mountainous areas where the living standard is quite low, some students have never heard of the term “Internet” and even have to struggle to go to school by means of part-time and farm work. As a consequence, those students’s education backgrounds are relatively disadvantageous compared to those in urban areas, and that many people believe that they should be given more opportunities in the entrance examination in universities and colleges. On the other hand, being given bonus points can result in bad habits and misconceptions. This new policy may cause many students to bear in mind that they will easily get admitted to prestigious universtities just with a little hard work and preparation. Consequently, they will neglect their studies and be easily lured by entertainment factors such as video or electronic games. In addition, living in far-flung areas does not mean that students can’t have access to universities and colleges. Many students who come from remote regions still become a top-school student or even high the highest scores in the national graduation exam because they are determined to achieve their goals to open a brighter future door and to support their parents. To conclude, regardless of their education background, non students should be given advantage in the national graduation exam because this can place their under wrong conceptions which can ruin their opportunities and their future door.