Many people believe that social networking sites (such as fb) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Experts throughout the developing and developed nations believe that, sophisticated modern applications such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter are having many detrimental impacts on our lives. Personally, I strongly advocate the former view. In this essay, I shall suggest a number of ways in which these social networking sites could be fatal. On one hand, there is ample, powerful, almost daily evidence that, these modern applications bring immeasurable benefits. People are now able to connect with their loved ones, without facing any geographical barriers. These networking applications allow people to experience the sense of connectivity by sharing their photos, news, and information with family and friends. For example, a recent study published by Oxford University illustrated that, students who use these networking applications, to stay in touch with their family are less likely to suffer from mental distress. Therefore, it is apparent that, these applications are making our life much easier. However, on the other hand, by using these applications, many people are now lacking crucial face-to-face interaction skills. Many people, especially teenager’s, are now addicted to this virtual world. This is borne out by a study completed at the University of Melbourne which demonstrated that, more than 85% of teenagers spend most of their time updating and enhancing their profile on Facebook. In addition, apart from providing a fake sense of social security, these networking sites are pushing people more towards living a sedentary life. In conclusion, it is probably certainly the case that, by using these sophisticated applications, it is now possible to stay connected with our loved ones. Nonetheless, I am still convinced that, these applications are having more detrimental effects on our social skills.