Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individuals, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had a chance to meet and communicate with anyone outside their immediate circle or community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offers individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. On the other hand, the effects that Facebook and other social networking sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather that individual participating in local communities they are choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, the people within the local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjoint and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in future. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society and local communities. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.