Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree? v. 130

The social networking websites such as Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter, etc. have changed the way of communication altogether. People have started spending hours and hours on social media to meet new people across the world. These digital platforms have brought a revolution, however, at the same time; we cannot ignore the negative impacts of these platforms on individuals and society as a whole. Social networking websites offer several various benefits such as faster mode of communication, the trouble-free way of gaining information, instant entertainment, etc. For Instance, these platforms provide a unique opportunity to let the people know about different cultures. Another significant advantage of such site is that they make people raise their voices for their rights, views, and opinions. People can certainly talk in global forums on the pertaining problems & crimes such as terrorism, child marriage, human trafficking, etc. If we take a look at the flip side of the coin, such easy access to these digital platforms on the workplaces can hamper the productivity of the employees of the organizations. Such distractions can interfere the dedication level of the employees towards the company. Also, people may get engaged in the virtual world so much that this has caused people to become more antisocial than ever before. According to renowned medical experts, such sites create stress attack among people who tend to use such sites excessively. For example, the craze to upload selfies on social media has created a lot of stress in today’s youth. To conclude, one should be smart enough to maintain a balance between the virtual world and actual world. If we don’t start taking actions now, there will be a society filled with socially awkward individuals who can no longer hold a conversation in a social environment