Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

Today, sports media have been dominated by sportsmen, leaving sportswomen with very little attention. The main reasons for this lie in the prejudice against women doing sports, and the fact that men’s sports shows are generally more interesting than women’s, and I opine that equal coverage for both sexes is essential. One reason for women not being given enough coverage is the deep-rooted notion that women should not engage in activities deemed ‘aggressive’ or ‘violent’, as can be seen from many popular sports today. Images of female sports players competing against one another, several of which involve strong physical activities, are still considered unorthodox to many people, thereby rendering female sport shows relegated. Additionally, sports involving men are, in many cases, more engaging and fun to watch. This is because men are innately stronger, more competitive and more aggressive, which makes their shows seemingly more sensational and dramatic. Therefore, people generally prefer watching men doing sports to women, and the television industry can generate more profits from matches and contests played by men. I believe that such negligence is intolerable in today’s egalitarian society, and therefore equal showing time for both sexes should be considered. The percentage of women’s participation in sports has been rising on an unprecedented scale in recent years, so they obviously deserve more public endorsement. Achievements of female sports figures shown on TV can encourage those with potential to embark on their sporting career. Moreover, more showing time may attract additional investments from sponsors, which in turn may positively affect wage rates of sportswomen. Men have long been every well paid in the sports industry, and now I believe it is high time women were paid the same. In conclusion, the reasons behind male’s dominance in sports shows are the sexist views ingrained in some people’s mentality and the fact that men’s shows might be more appealing. My firm conviction is that ensuring equal showing time is essential, for it can inspire those who wish to pursue sport-related careers and improve the lives of female sportswomen.