Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society.

Nowadays, every one of us can resonate with the claim that social networks have impacted remarkably on our lives on both individual and societal scales. Well, I am no exception, so I totally agree with the statement provided. To start with, I suppose the most widely known problem is the immense impact such social sites as Instagram or Facebook have on how we perceive appearances of our own and of others our own and others’ appearances. To be more precise, a great deal of research has been conducted over recent years which have pointed out, for instance, a striking decrease in self-esteem and an increase in cases of eating disorders among the users of social networking sites, and especially among teenagers. Hence, social media standards paired with apps that distort natural proportions and cover blemishes, pimples and all the other kinds of natural things provoke an unhealthy relationship with our own bodies. Secondly, an evident change has occurred in the realm of communication. No one can’t turn a blind eye to the fact that our way of communicating with each other has changed drastically over the last few decades. I would say that an option of using a Facebook messaging service or a reaction on Instagram today is frequently preferred to an option of calling or meeting someone face-to-face. Thus, the ability to contact your closest friends and family members in a second bestowed on us by social media services, as I notice for sure, is gradually making us more distant from real life. To conclude, we and our society will never be the same after the emergence of social networking, and it is apparent that this phenomenon has already left a mark on our existence.