International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

While International tourism has been a boon for a number of cities, it has also proven to be a bane for environment and the locals. In my opinion, despite the serious implications of tourism on climate and people, it has given a significant boost to the economy offering local inhabitants a better quality of life. This essay will argue that the benefits of tourism outweigh its shortcomings. One of the serious repercussions of tourism is the increase in crime rate. In small cities, infiltration of tourists also brings with it the fear of crime. Locals living in close knit communities are more vulnerable to robbery and theft as they are honest and can be easily led. For instance, my father who runs a small resort in Jaipur, a popular tourist destination, often comes across tourists trying to dupe locals. Also, statistics show that crime rates rise drastically during the peak tourist seasons. Furthermore, Increasing levels of water pollution in touristy destinations is another serious concern. Tourists generate a lot of plastic waste buying things on the go, discarding it near water bodies or in the open. This leads to polluted water which impacts the environment and thus flora and fauna of the region. Nonetheless, despite the shortcomings, tourism is beneficial to a regions’s economy as it enhances quality of life of the locals. It leads to opening of restaurants, motels and resorts which not only generates new jobs in the area but also gives exposure to the youth. For instance, my village, which was a sleepy little valley where people could hardly make ends meet has now turned into a flourishing tourist destination. In addition, Conglomerates are now investing in business to cater to the tourists in the region, offering work and thus a better quality of life to the people. In nutshell, I think that although tourism leads to crime and environment imbalance in some places- which can be easily combatted by spreading awareness- it plays a much larger role in boosting the economy of the region and thereby giving the youth an opportunity to improve their standard of living.