MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SOCIAL NETWORKING SITES HAVE HAD HAD A HUGE NEGATIVE IMPACT ON BOTH INDIVIDUALS AND SOCIETY.

Experts throughout both developing and developed nations debate whether advent of social media has positive impact on human beings or it contradicts the statement. The essay will look on both the sides and thus come to a conclusion. The main reasons for this are three folded, firstly, social networking is very much addictive. Not only it affects mental health of adolescents but also makes their lifestyle sedentary. For instance, in a survey done by University of Mumbai stated that youth and adults spend almost half of their life browsing social networks. Secondly, social networking sites makes an individual home sick. They are not able to cope up with the real world. To illustrate this statement, I would like to share an example. I have a niece who stays in the USA, I used to talk to her on WhatsApp on regular basis but when she arrived to India, she lacked confidence while talking to me. Lastly, Cyber-attack is the reason why social networking has a bad influence on the society. People make unknown friends, share their information such as videos, pictures or an any other valuable thing, due to lack of security mishap takes place. Recently while I was reading a newspaper, I had gone through an article which stated that in Bangalore a girl made a friend on Facebook. They used to talk, laugh and share information through this social networking site. One fine day, that person called that girl and blackmailed her that if she doesn’t give 20 lakhs, then the person would disclose all the information. Eventually the person was a fraud and had done many scandals before. On a flip side, with the help of social networking site one can connect easily to another person in any part of the world. It is due to social media; small business can sell their products internationally. For instance, I can connect to my uncle and aunt who stays 13000 km far from us. To conclude, very thing is like a coin, that is having 2 sides. But I personally believe the negative impacts of social media outweighs positive side because one can sustain business if not done globally, but an individual won’t be able to live if his/her mental and physical health is affected.