Many people believe that social networking sites have had a hugely negative impact on both individuals and society.

The vast majority blames social media for its detrimental effects on both individuals and society. It isn't difficult to see why one might feel so, especially in today's era where everyone mindlessly falls susceptible to online fads and trends. I agree with the above statement, and this essay with discuss my views regarding them. Firstly, the concept of privacy is conveniently being neglected today. With everyone constantly updating their location and event log on a daily basis, kidnappers and child predators have found it easier to track their targets. What we eat, where we go and whom we meet is all put up online for anyone to browse through. A recent survey by the crime branch investigations unit revealed how easy it is in today's time to prey by monitoring social media accounts. However, despite the repeated warnings, people often overlook this, thus enabling such negative elements in society. Secondly, the pressure of having to look picture perfect and keeping up with social life has vastly affected individual mental health. Those viewing these events on networking sites develop a sense of feeling left out, thus overcompensating at their next outing. A major chunk of time is spent on multiple attempts at getting the perfect picture, time which could be spent bonding with friends. For instance, people at dinner gatherings have started to eat less, talk less and click pictures of their food and restaurants more. A team of psychologists at Cambridge published reports on the addictive nature and its depression inducing effects on those engaged in facebook and snapchat. To conclude, keeping the aforementioned views in mind, i agree with the belief that social networking has a hugely negative effect on individual and society.