Many People Believe That Social Networking Sites Have Had a Huge Negative Impact on Individuals and Society What is your opinion?

Social networking sites have become increasingly popular in the past few years. However, it is argued that these sites have a negative impact on individuals and society. I disagree with the concept because it is nearly impossible to stay disconnected from these sites. However, there should be a limitation regarding the usage of this media. First of all, social networks have enabled to develop a connection among people belonging to different cultures. With only few clicks you are able to get yourself connected with anyone across the globe. For example, being a football fan, I have joined several groups on Facebook and in contact with people from different countries. We interact with each other on a daily basis and I have made some good friends through this. Moreover, we can find our school friends through this medium which is nearly impossible to track in real life. Hence, it is quite obvious that it enables us to develop good connections. On the other hand, there should be a limitation regarding its usage. Excess of everything is bad. Our young generation is getting addicted to social media. Instead of spending time with friends or family, they have indulged themselves to computers and mobile phones. This is not only affecting their relationships, but also their academic performance. According to a recent study, it has been observed that students spending excessive time on social media are performing poorly in their academic results. This is a matter of concern for our society. To conclude, in my opinion social media has benefited a lot, but it has devastating effects on the society that are needed to be addressed. It is expected that users will realize its consequences and limit the usage of these sites.