Many People Believe That Social Networking Sites Have A Huge Negative Impact On Both Individuals And Society

In recent years, the use of social media sites has become a widespread trend. Many claim that these sites have a detrimental effect on people and the community. I strongly support this notion, and I will justify my opinion in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. To commence with, the significant impact that these sites have on people is that young individuals who spend excessive amount of time on web surfing become depressed and isolated from their family. This is because they keep themselves locked in rooms for hours and spend most of their time in playing online games or chatting with strangers. Initially, individuals enjoy this habit. However, with the passage of time they become addicted which leads to isolation. To illustrate further, in India’s metro cities, social-media addiction has become a severe issue, and thousands of people seek medical advice / psychiatric advice to overcome this addiction. Therefore, it is evident that social-media addiction has serious implications for people. Furthermore, these sites harm our community. The most critical issue is that there is a significant rise in crime in the society which is due to the misuse of social-media websites. Many attackers hack public profiles of celebrities, which has personal data and pictures and then start blackmailing them. Moreover, there are many cases where criminals target teenage boys and girls by creating fake profiles, and once they fall into their trap, they kidnap them and ask for extortion money from their family. To conclude, it is clear that social-sites have a negative impact on both people and society, as they lead to isolation among individuals and cause more crimes in the community. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is a negative phenomenon and individuals should be more careful while using such websites.