Many people believe that schools should teach children to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. Give your opinion and relevant examples.

There have been controversial thoughts on whether schoolchildren should be taught at school to become good members of society or rather develop as individuals. However, in my opinion, becoming an individual is more essential for students to learn, although being good in society also tend to be needed globally. Firstly, it takes more time and effort to learn how to think critically and live independently. This can therefore be the reason for the argument as most of the children and teenagers spend approximately one-third of their time attending school. In addition, the society nowadays need the younger generation to grow up as independent and intelligent people who are able to stick to their convictions both economy-wise and education-wise. Therefore, this would well lessen the situations where only humanitarily-educated people with no other important knowledge lead countries, which would be the worst global problem. Finally, people who can think for themselves and come up with relevant decisionsmay be the exact people needed in these times of economic and social turbulence so that the way we live could also improve. I accept that citizens may lose the sense of generosity and integrity in the real day to day life if it is not taught at school. Nevertheless, it would appear that parents themselves could also take the lead by educating their children how to be usefuland qualified when upbringing in order to resist the temptation of this situation. It is logical to conclude that educating the independent generations at school for the betterment of communities and societiesin general tend to be far more advisable and reasonable, in my view, as for their inner personal development their parents should be responsible.