These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, individuals are engaged in multiple professions and frequently shifting from one occupation to another to get handy and compatible with different working positions. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why persons make alterations to their jobs, associated benefits and challenges that needs to be overcome. Let’s begin by looking into the benefits of having more than one employment and switching between different careers. One of the salient positive of having multiple jobs is that it ensures maximum to people in terms of employment prospects. What I intend by this is that it provides numerous opportunities to such people when employers are looking for resources with diversified work experience and being skilled in different disciplines gives them an additional edge. For instance, in our daily routine we come across many job advertisements from different companies mentioning that candidates with additional work experience and knowledge related to linked departments and business operations will be preferred. This is how a career shift can be fruitful for people. Secondly, engaging yourself in more than one job brings you additional financial returns as compared to single job holders. Apparently this is the significant cause which led people to go for more than one job. Take fresh graduates as an example, once they are done with their studies they mostly explore and prefers to opt for more than one employment to ensure their financial stability in early age. Turing to the other side of the argument, being enrolled in more that one job can cost people serious health issues and family concerns. To be more precise, an additional employment requires long working hours and less time to rest which can lead to stressful and unhealthy life. Further, this often lead the way to disturbed family life as people are unable to spend adequate amount of quality time with their family members. Another potential issue is that, switching between or moving to different occupation may seems interesting to people but it may cause shortfall to get skilled and fully expert in one trade. It eventually turns one in to an inexperienced candidate as it says ‘’Jack of all trades master of none’’. Career changing process takes time and can be especially challenging if no adequate amount of time has been spent on a specific job. All things considered about having multiple jobs at a time or frequent profession shifting, we need to weigh up the said positives and negatives of the subject to help with optimum decision making. In my opinion, I personally believe that the benefits in terms of better employment opportunities and high financial compensation eventually outweigh any negatives.