Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

Appreciate it or not, Celebrities are a part of our daily lives through means of the television, the internet, and other mass media. With the wider popularity garnered by social media, most of the celebrities are receiving an abundance of attention and therefore are branded as ‘influencers’ since they ‘influence’ people or rather their followers, the majority of which happen to be children. The extensive coverage of celebrities by any form of media has created a negative effect on children since celebrities are perceived to be role models and hence I strongly agree on this notion. Recent studies have shown that the cognitive ability of a young mind can be easily diverted through various external factors that influence decision making. Celebrities are generally perceived to be involved in irresponsible behavior such as taking drugs, smoking, drinking alcohol, and other various acts that are not welcomed by society. And the media sheds further light on such irresponsible behavior thereby diverting undue attention towards the particular person. Children believe that these actions are normal and seem to think that they would look ‘cool’ if they replicate the same no matter how harmful it may be to themselves or society. As a result, important matters such as education and family are ignored since the attention of the child is averted towards entertainment. This is a prime example of how the media plays an important role in the negative influence of a young child’s mind. Another key factor is the perception of beauty created by celebrities. Children generally tend to follow the young and the beautiful, thereby appreciating high standards of beauty. They believe that their beloved celebrity is flawless and set out to imitate them and the constant portrayal of the celebrity by a media channel will only make a child more conscious of his or her looks. This directly impacts the confidence of the child and he or she feels that the society or their friends may not accept them for who they are. While coverage is important, media sources should act with responsibility and adhere to a standard on the frequency at which celebrity pertained news is shared. After all, our children are our future, and each individual, be it young or old, plays an integral part in our society.