Many people believe that learning a foreign language is a very difficult task. What are the most difficult things about learning a foreign language? What is the best way to overcome them?

It is commonly believed by people that learning a new language is hard. This essay will explain the reasons why and how to tackle this issue. Firstly and foremost, the main barrier in learning new language is to adapt with the grammar. Mostly, between the grammar of the people’s mother tongue and the grammar of the new language is significantly different. As a clear example, while Indonesian language has no tenses and is the same to describe the past and the future, English has a lot of tenses to be aware of. As the consequence, it may lead to a great confusion to Indonesians who study English. Other point to consider is a different alphabet used by other language. Some languages written differently than the well-known alphabet used world widely. For instance, the Russian letters are completely different than the letters of Indonesian language, thus, people tend to find difficulties both in writing and reading the Russian mother tongue. To make it short, grammar and letters-difference are the two main challenges in learning new languages. There is one ultimate action which can help the learners in tackling this issue. By joining a language community both online and offline would help them considerably since the group provides a platform where its member can practice their speaking, writing, listening, and reading in the new language routinely. For example, people who are desperate in their English speaking skills could join Toastmaster to increase their skills. To put in a nutshell, some people find it is hard in learning new languages due to two factors, those are grammar and different letters being used. Joining a language group will undoubtedly help them to counter this problem.