Many people believe that it is becoming less common to go on a holiday abroad and people are choosing to go on a holiday in their own country instead.

It is believed by many people that domestic travel is becoming more common than going for a vacation abroad. I agree with the statement because of restrictions caused by the coronavirus pandemic and many people wanting to holiday on a budget. The global pandemic that began in 2020 massively reduced international travel. This is because many governments either sealed their borders entirely or forced foreign travelers to undergo a long period of quarantine. As a consequence. many holidays were either canceled by the airline or people decided to cancel their trip themselves and opt for a trip inside their home country. For example, Thailand is one of the most visited countries in the world. But from March 2020, the number of foreigners dropped massively. Nonetheless, many local Thai people visited places like Ko Samui and Phuket. With the economic crash in 2020, the citizens are being more careful with their finances. Many holidaymakers decided to find budget domestic holidays instead of spending lump sums on faraway destinations. Visiting places within our own country saves alot on expensive flights, hence, driving to a nearby resort or beach gave people a cheaper option. For instance, the roadways from Bangkok to Pattaya were normally very congested every weekend because people from the capital city stayed close to home rather than flying to places outside of Thailand. To conclude, international travel is undoubtedly becoming less common because of a rise in stay-at-home holidays. The two main reasons are coronavirus travel restrictions and people tightening their budgets.