a thousand years of good prayer

The story is written from a limited third-person perspective. This part becomes the strongest part of the story because it contains almost 3 main themes in the story: communication, conflict in culture, generation gap. Communication is a big deal in the story in general and in this conversation in particular. The word "no" holos her lack of communication and makes it clear that she does not want to speak again. conversation only works in one direction from the father. This "conversation" is not a "real conversation" as the writer says she asked "without looking up from her food". The basic thing to show respect to the other person when you talk is to make eye contact. It can be said that it is taken very seriously in conversation. shows the disinterest from the daughter and we can also see quite a distance in their affection. From Mr. Shi's point of view, we can see that he himself has admitted that there is a huge problem with communication. The passage "someone he shares language with but with whom he can no longer share a dear moment" follows. when he tried, but it was even less effective when he was talking to someone who didn't speak the same language. He interpreted that as blaming his daughter. This is like an act of "taking it out to somebody" and since then he talks about what a woman's "standard" is to explain to his daughter. This has touched the two people's view of "standards of a woman", because the clash between cultures is probably also why the daughter responded with a rather challenging voice. when saying "I'm divorced, so certainly I'm not a good woman". Mr. Shi ignores the statement and tells her that her mother is an example of a good woman. "mom" may have taken her back to her childhood memories, bringing her orgasms to a climax. replied, but now her eyes are "looking directly" which shows that the communication has improved but in a not very pleasant way when her statement says "did she succeed in making you talk" in a challenging tone and looked at him with a "fiercer" look. This shows that this is the first time she looks and talks seriously, proving that she has begun to open up more about herself. Instead of accepting, Mr. Shi started comparing her with his mother. This further proved the enormous influence on China's ancient culture, which made the daughter feel dissatisfied and began to question her father. No matter how hard she tries, she can't live up to his standards, which also shows that he wants to control his daughter with old concepts. Mr. Shi explains his "communication" is like how. The conversation gradually came to a standstill when the daughter asked when he would return. It was like the daughter's avoidance of him that she didn't want to see her father anymore and also her way of breaking the call. talk about this. from which we can see that parents are the role models of their children when it is Mr. Shi who made his daughter become close and now scolds her for that reason. So this conversation ended unhappily because the daughter left before she could touch the food. The conversation is like a cycle because Mr. Shi himself used to do the same when his daughter started to grow up. The author's use of the third person, but only from Mr. Shi's point of view, shows a lack of communication between him and his daughter, because he couldn't fully understand her personality.