How fast fashion adds to the world's clothing waste problem

The video shows fast fashion is contributing to the world’s clothing waste problem. People are buying too much even when they don’t need it. There have been 400% more clothes since the 1980's. Most of it, 85% of those clothes ended up in landfill. Those clothes can not biodegrade easily because many are made with fabrics that can’t be broken down. So in the last few years, some of the big brand businesses have started recycling programs. H&M is the one which will take everything from you such as jeans, curtains, even underwear. They said on their ads that they will cut the jeans into pieces and recycle, they take old clothes and turn them into new garments. But the reality is only 1% of clothing is actually recycled and has a very literal sense of the world. 1% means taking fiber and breaking them down and turning them into new fibers. Also it is way too expensive and too time consuming to make new clothes from old ones. People think that our old clothes are given to those who need it but they are actually wrong. All clothes are shipped overseas to developing countries and they sell them there. But it does not mean it’s not going to end up in landfill. The left over clothes will end up in the landfill because no one would buy them. “They need or they want. A lot of times they want stuff but they don’t need it” People alway want to buy new stuff even when they don’t need it. We need to understand what we need and what we want and how it affects the world, not just buy them because they are cheap or trending.