Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

Newspapers are filled with a number of crime stories and events every day, and there are various factors for this situation. According to a segment of people, media is to be blamed for the precipitous increase in the crime rate, whereas, other opine that it is due to some basic social issues. While acknowledging that some root level problems have undeniably contributed towards the rise in violence, media has also been involved in fueling it. Media plays an essential role in society and can very well have some detrimental impacts. Firstly, nowadays, a number of movies are based on action and violent act. People watching these movies learn new ideas of committing crimes, especially bad people, and may use them for their benefits. For example, a recent movie depicted a terrorist attack scene where terrorists are able to hack and take over a government system, and cause huge damage to the nation. The techniques depicted in the movie can definitely provide new idea to hackers and can cause such damage in real life. Secondly, rich people in media promote unrealistic expectations. It creates a pressure on low earning classes and some individuals may choose to indulge into criminal activities to fulfill their needs. Therefore, the various forms of media can influence people which is not in positive sense always. Nonetheless, there are other factors which also contributes towards this problem. It is irrefutable that some fundamental social issues have been reasons behind the increase in violence. In most cases, a person commits a crime when he is not able make a living or improve the life of his family, and unemployment is at the root of this. Moreover, there are still other problems, such as lack of education and discrimination, which eventually lead to unemployment in the future, and thus, also become reasons for violence. To conclude, media has a great influence on our day to day life and can be a source for increasing violence activities. However, there are other social issues which contributes towards this situation. If the movies are censored with regards to criminal scenes, it can definitely help in lowering the crime rate.