many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement

It goes without saying that examinations play a crucial role in assessing the educational results in most countries. One of the common types of examination is the customary test with pen and paper. Although it is not stranger to students, this test is still considered unsuitable these days, according to some adverse impacts that it brings about. The main function of formal “pen and paper” examination is believed to revise students’ knowledge throughout the learning process; however, its consequences are not as beneficial as people expect. Most examinations nowadays include such theoretical questions resulting in rote learning because they are often predictable. Therefore, students mean to use this passive way of learning in order to get a high mark. However, it will prevent them from understanding the essence and thinking how to solve problems themselves. Moreover, the unemployment rate is also an effect of theoretical exams which have no practicality. Students will totally be jobless if they can not put knowledges into practice. Nowadays, besides the degree, having experience is also an essential demand for employees to get jobs. In addition, traditional examinations can not measure students’ abilities exactly because each student has his own strengths. Some are good at writing but others express themselves much better verbally. Hence, schools need to have various formats to assess students. For example, oral exams, not only to measure students’ knowledge but also help them cultivate their presentation skill. To sum up, formal “pen and paper” examinations have considerable drawbacks that need improving. It is also essential to find suitable ways to assess students in overview.