Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

It is assumed that paper-based exams are not the best way to measure people's ability and educational accomplishment. Although 'pen and paper' examinations have some drawbacks, they are appropriate for modern life's educational demands. There are several reasons why present examinations are decent for educational assessment. The first reason is paper-based exams are controlled and time-effective way to assess people's abilities and knowledge. Although it is difficult for some people to perform their best in such type of exams, paper-based exams are necessary when it comes to prevent cheating and plagiarism. When people are under such exam conditions, it is unlikely that they can copy others' work cheat in any way. Furthermore, in formal 'pen and paper' exams, many people can be assessed in short time. Despite the fact that students cannot often get feedback on their mistakes from exams, this type of exams are very time-saving for both students and examiners. Secondly, paper-based exams are the best method for comparing different regions' results nationally in order to improve the quality of education in whole country. If one region's exam results are much lower than others, the government can learn the causes why it is. Even more importantly, paper-based exams enable us assess students in a national-standardised way. This method ease the burden of comparing exam results nationally. In this way students are required to gain standardised same skills, know same knowledge. As a result, it is much straightforward for governments to be aware of quality of education in their country. To conclude, in spite of having some disadvantages, present paper-based examinations can meet the need of evaluating many people massively in time-effective way.