Many people believe that Facebook has had a negative impact on both individuals and society. What is your opinion on this issue?

The social networking sites like Facebook are outstanding innovations in the digital age and have become a vital part of our daily life. Although Facebook brings numerous benefits for people as well as societies but its detrimental effects cannot be neglected. In my opinion, the negative impacts outweigh the positive aspects. To begin with, Facebook provide a rapid and effective way of interaction among people, regardless of geographic locations. Students studying abroad, for example, can keep in contact not only in the social circle but also with friends and families by sharing their news and updates or using the video call features of Facebook without worrying about the huge cost that incurred previously. Nevertheless, the overuse of Facebook reduces the quality of interpersonal communication. Many people are so addicted to Facebook that they waste hours chatting and posting on Facebook and even constantly stare at their screens during dinners with their families and friends. As a result, excessive use of Facebook leads to the weakening of bonds between individuals and the lack of social skills. Furthermore, this social network allows people to keep up to date with the news instantly and automatically. People now are able to catch news in real time through live stream. On the other hand, the society has become hugely dependent on Facebook, which is by far the worst perpetrator regarding to spreading fake news. According to a study published in the journal Nature in 2020, Facebook was found to be the referrer site for untrustworthy news sources, which caused devastating consequences. For instance, a recent survey by the COVID States Project found that U. S Facebook users were less likely to be vaccinated any other type of new consumer due to misleading information on Facebook about vaccines and treatments for covid-19, which has gone viral and influenced the views of large numbers of Americans. In conclusion, people have become more social, interactive and obtained news more conveniently thanks to Facebook. However, it has severe negative effects such as increases the distance in people’s relationships in addition to the heavily reliance on unreliable news. Therefore, it is essential to use this platform properly to minimise its adverse impacts.