Many people believe that equal opportunity exists in society today. Have gender roles changed over the last 30 years?

In the modern era, with the enhancement of the thinking, it is encouraged to treated all kinds of genders equally. One question that requires discussion is to what extent that men and women have the same opportunity in any situation and how their roles have changed for 30 years. From my point of view, I partially agree with this opinion. In this essay I will give some arguments to support my opinion. From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why individuals say that equal-opportunity is surviving in the modern times. It is clear that nowadays, no matter residents are men or women, they are all capable of having jobs which used to only be accepted for men. To illustrate, now male and female are both received the same education when they are a young children and be able to work in a factory or a company. In the past, because of sexism, women were only responsible for household chores and not allowed to achieve knowledge from schools. Besides that, they did not enable to make any decision for their life such as what they would do in the future or who they could get married. However, these old – fashioned ideas are not agreed to take by modern citizens anymore. In the present time, women are more respected which gives them a number of opportunities to prove their value. As a result, people can see that girls are as talented as boys so they also have the ability to do the same things or careers which men can or something greater. Furthermore, it is vital to relied that female today have their own voices in a family and their roles are more important as well as be able to decide the future by themselves. Unlike is the past, everything is man – dominated and male were breadwinner, at the moment, women can earn money, too. This results in the improvement of women confidence and independence as they do not have to depend too much on men. On the other hand, I would argue that there is some types of occupations should only be done by male or female because of a number of reasons. It is not sexual discrimination but due to the diversity in qualities of men and women. Perhaps the main reason is that they are different in both mental and physical characteristic. For instance, men are usually seen as physically stronger than women, along with better analytical abilities. As a consequence, they are more suitable for labor works and public works where enormous amount of energy is required in some activities such as lifting stuffs, hammering, digging and so many other tough works. On the contrary, women are constantly considered to be more patient and chary is more favored by employers in the service industries. A good illustration of this is all most teachers and nurse tend to be played by females since their innate personalities like motherhood are the contributory factors influencing their working performance. Students seem to be get on well with females teachers better than male ones as they are more sympathetic, easier and have deeper understanding. That is also the main reason results in designation of patients female nurse as taking care of them. In conclusion, our society has improved a lot about human thinking but the equality opportunities has become an complex issue with no easy solution. A lot of people agree that job prospects are required for any sex and gender roles in the society. which was narrow – minded, has developed to be better. I believe that it is not essential to have a different treatment between men and women because each of them plays their different roles which are all necessary to improve our civilization. If society have a balance treatment for males and females, everybody will have the same value without any injustice.