Many people believe that countries cannot achieve economic success without doing damage to the environment

As global concerns for the environment arise, many believe that countries, especially developing nations aren't able to achieve economic success without doing harm to their ecosystem. While this is true for some, it can be changed. On one hand, a country needs to be dependent on nature one way or another to be able to boost its economy. This could lead to problems, one of which being the irresponsibility from companies working in that particular country, causing it to face potentially devastating environmental consequences. The potential damages become more severe when the host country has no or too weak of policies to prevent major harm to its natural side. A well-known example of this is China, the second-most developed country in the world, which has its major industrial cities always in the top 10 with the highest AQI. However, there are still many success stories of countries witnessing staggering economic development and yet retains its environment surprisingly clean. Probably the most well-known out of all comes from Singapore, which found its way to becoming one of the Asian economic tigers right after gaining its independence. By pairing its government fundings into domestic industries such as shipbuilding, electronics, and healthcare, with strict policies regarding the environment, it was able to rise into being one of the richest places in the world, as well as for some, the healthiest place to live on Earth. Great! To conclude, it is fair to say that to achieve high economic growth whilst retaining a clean ecosystem is a very difficult thing to do; especially for developing nations, which heavily rely on the environment for its industries. However, with the help of strict laws and clear regulations, it is definitely possible. Governments should take into consideration more on the environment and sustainable development in domestic industries, instead of just blindly chasing prosperity.