Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time.

Cooking is the process by which an individual prepare some food items such as dishes. Therefore it is thought by many people that school teachers should teach cooking to both girls and boys students whereas it is considered wastage of time by others. I will describe both the views below in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, one of the major causes of providing cooking classes to every students is that they would become independent regarding the meals because in every home the food is prepared by parents due to which they would be able to cook food after learning. Moreover, those students who go abroad for study or job after school, can make own food if they are learnt by the school teachers. Apart from it, many countries have applied some special cooking courses to make people chef as they consider it profession. For example, in India lots of people study management courses for cooking and hotel managing. On the other hand, some people believe that cooking classes take the time of other important subjects such as Science and Mathematics and so they do not allow their kids to get classes for cooking from schools. Furthermore, most of the children learn cooking skill from their parents at home ought to which their school time is saved for other activities. According to me, it should be dependent on the children whether they are interested in cooking or not and neither school interferes with their students nor parents. Therefore, cooking should be an optional subject in the schools. To conclude, although cooking can not take other subjects place however, it is somewhere important as it helps the person when nobody is present to prepare food for them.