Many people believe that alcohol causes many problems and there have been frequent calls for the government to ban it.

Many problems have been associated with the consumption of alcohol and so many citizens are demanding that the authorities do something to make it illegal. I totally agree that action is necessary to prevent the sale of alcoholic beverages, because they are having a serious effect on people’s health, relationships with others, and the harmony of society in general. The main reason why I think alcohol should be forbidden is because when people drink it has a grave effect on their health. Excessive levels of alcohol consumption have been linked to liver disease, heart disease, and neurosis. Also, people who drink more are more likely to suffer from a heart attack. In addition, young people that drink are more likely to suffer from depression. Therefore alcohol should be banned to enable people to have a long and happy life. Another problem that drinkers face is a worsening of their relationships with others. People who get drunk will easily lose their friends if they behave badly and don’t treat their friends with respect. Even family members will not tolerate violent or offensive behaviour. I think that many family disputes involve the consumption of excessive levels of alcohol by one or more of the participants. So, people that binge drink may end up lonely, and they may cause harm to their family. Finally, the effects of drinking are taking a huge toll on society in general. Drinking causes a great deal of vandalism and crime on the streets. In addition, the cost to the health system is enormous. Drinking also results in many road fatalities, I had a classmate that died when drinking and driving. Therefore, alcohol should be prohibited in order to protect our society in general. In summary, I reaffirm my position that alcohol should be forbidden because it has a serious effect on people’s health and their relationships with others. It is also causing many problems in society. Therefore we must do something to solve this problem or we will be living terrible lives in an unhealthy society.