Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans.

More and more animals are nearing to extinction every year. Yet some people are only bothered to save those species that are beneficial to humans. However, I strongly disagree with this notion and believe that we humans are primarily responsible for the damages to our ecosystem which has lead to the endangerment of these species and it is our duty to set things right. Firstly, I would like to point out that humans in their race to advancement and development have made enough harm to our environment. This has had a butterfly effect on the overall health of our planet. Leading to sever climatic changes. This has snowballed into disruption to food chain causing many species to starve to extinction. Thus we humans should take the responsibility and help all animals. Secondly, if we only focus on helping those animals which are useful for us. We will further damage the food chain causing more harm. It has been proved by several scientist and environmentalist that every segment in the food chain is equally important for an ecosystem to survive. Otherwise the complete ecosystem may collapse ultimately effecting us humans. So, I would conclude this essay by quoting a famous saying by Indian freedom Fighter Mr. Subhash Chandra Bose, “Live and Let live”. It is high time we humans become more responsible and considerate towards our environment and fellow habitants of this planet. Stop being selfish and think more about other species too. Because we all have equal right to be on this earth.