Many people believe that a country’s wealth is dependant on the health of its citizens. Other people argue that education is a better indicator of a nation’s wealth and well-being. What is your opinion? What are some other factors that contribute to the growth and prosperity of a country?

It has often been said that the wealth of a nation depends on the health of its citizens. In modern society, knowledge and education are also increasingly important factors behind a strong economy. In my opinion, healthcare and education are equally important priorities of a government. Firstly, in order for a country to be economically strong, citizens must have access to good healthcare. If a citizen is unhealthy and weak, it can be assumed that that individual is not contributing his or her potential energy, optimum work abilities and knowledge to his or her community. By providing quality healthcare, a government can ensure that each citizen is as healthy and capable as possible. In this way, both developing and developed countries create stronger individual citizens and, in turn, stronger nations. Good education is equally important in modern societies. In order for a country to advance in any area, its citizens must be educated so that they can actively contribute new ideas to the workforce and to the economy. For example, over the past two decades, advances in technology have helped nations like India and China, among many others, to create strong economies and a better standard of living for many citizens. These advances in technology and the business opportunities created from them are directly attributable to education. Aside from healthcare and education, other factors also contribute to the development of nations. For example, abundant natural resources, positive relationships with other nations leading to trade, efficient metropolitan infrastructures and a strong agricultural sector are all factors which can help nations prosper. However, I still believe that healthcare and education are the two most important priorities of any government, because if the healthcare and education systems of a nation are effective, then all other areas of an economy are positively affected. In conclusion, in my opinion, quality healthcare and education systems are equally important to the development of a strong nation.