Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

It is widely argued that every nation should aim to produce materials and goods on a massive scale. To a larger extent, I disagree with this statement as this aim may a negative impact on the environment. First and foremost, a massive production of goods and items may put a high pressure on the land. To be more precise, manufacturers may use raw materials and the land inadequately to produce more materials, the effects of which will lead to a shortage of resources and erosion of soil. For example, in order to harvest crops four times a year, instead twice, farmers have to use chemical pesticides, that damage the quality of soil. Thus, producing more goods is inappropriate aim to achieve, and it can negatively influence the environment in the short and long term. Besides, of countries’ primary objective to manufacture more and more goods, it may cause a significant waste of materials after its disposal. As a result, waste of used products will be carried to landfill sites and ocean, that will contaminate the land as well as water. For instance, many containers of radioactive waste were dumped at three ocean sites in the Pacific Ocean, that had a catastrophic effect on marine life. Therefore, governments should focus on producing a sufficient amount of goods and materials. In conclusion, although many people claim that the main aim of every state should be to produce more products and goods, I disagree with this point of view as it can put a huge pressure on the land and increase the amount of waste products.