Many people argue that pupils in school should place more emphasis on learning the history of their own community rather than the global history.

Many people argue that pupils in school should place more emphasis on learning the history of their own community rather than the global history. While I agree that finding the local history will help them gain more knowledge of their ancestors, I believe that there are some benefits to discovering about international history. On the one hand, it is true that teaching children understanding of what happened in the past at one’s locality helps them promote a sense of patriotism. For instance, students at the age of schooling in Vietnam are taught about how their forefathers defended their territory and reclaimed sovereignty. As a result, those young children would be proud of their origin and value of the life they enjoy as it is today. Furthermore, these days, with the trend towards globalisation, the cultural characteristics of each country are the features which make the distinction between nations under the universe. Therefore, I think that knowing about one’s own history is not only a privilege, but also their responsibility to grasp their hometown’s traditional culture and ethics. On the other hand, learning about world history is equally as important as local one. First and foremost, obtaining knowledge from the outside world enhances our horizons in terms of civilization and human progress. Due to a global community, more children may confront confusion and backwardness when relocating to a new country if they fail to comprehend the significance of history of the host country. In addition, personally, I believe that learning about the historical backgrounds of different nations will assist young learners in their future careers. They would possess a golden selling point/ competitive advantage when applying to international companies, particularly those who highly value corporate culture like Japan. In conclusion, I hold my firm belief that the importance of local and foreign history cannot be brought into comparison to determine which one is more necessary since they have distinctively equal meanings to students.